All 40 seats to go to polls in single part on 14 February-Politics Information , Firstpost

Goa Election 2022 Voting Dates: All 40 seats to go to polls in single phase on 14 February

Representational picture. PTI

The Election Fee of India has introduced the ballot dates for the upcoming Goa meeting elections. The EC additionally took to social media on 10 January to launch some particulars in regards to the elections scheduled to be held in Uttarakhand, Manipur, Punjab and Uttar Pradesh as nicely.

In keeping with the EC, the state will go to the polls on 14 February, with all 40 seats voting on the identical date. The final date for submitting the nominations for the Goa 2022 polls is 21 January. The outcomes of the election shall be introduced on 10 March.

As per the Election Fee, Goa may have 1,722 polling stations within the elections. A complete of 11,56,762 voters are eligible to forged their ballots within the upcoming polls.

The upcoming Meeting polls promise to be a tricky battle for the BJP because the Trinamool Congress has additionally waded into the electoral race this time. By way of the Goa elections, the Mamata Banerjee-led TMC goals to consolidate its declare because the main opposition occasion in opposition to Narendra Modi’s authorities. It additionally goals to develop its electoral footprint after a stupendous victory in final yr’s West Bengal polls.

The ruling occasion can also be dealing with challenges from the Congress occasion and Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Celebration.

Moreover, the Nationalist Congress Celebration, Goa Ahead Celebration, and Goa Su-Raj Celebration are additionally vying for seats.

Many MLAs have switched sides earlier than the polls, lowering the power of the Meeting to 34 seats. The Congress occasion has seen the utmost variety of MLAs leaving.

The Congress, which had emerged as the one largest occasion within the 2017 state polls with 17 seats, has now gone down to 2 seats.

A number of the notable names who’ve left the occasion not too long ago embody Aleixo Reginaldo Lourenco and ex-Goa CM Luizinho Faleiro, each of whom had joined the TMC. Furthermore, Congress chief Ravi Naik joined the BJP.

The BJP additionally noticed its leaders Alina Saldanham, Michael Lobo, Pravin Zantye and Carlose Almeida give up the occasion. In keeping with Hindustan Instances, Lobo is the third Christian chief within the state to give up the BJP, accusing the occasion of adjusting its fashion of functioning following former chief minister Manohar Parrikar’s demise in 2019.

Supply hyperlink