Go Goa Gone: 24 of 40 MLAs in Goa Meeting switched events over final 5 years

In what political specialists are calling a document, 24 members of Goa’s 40-seat legislative Meeting have switched events through the present five-year time period. This implies 60 per cent of the Meeting has modified events between the earlier state election and the one which can be held subsequent month.

The politics of the coastal state of Goa isn’t new to turncoats. Right here, the lean of energy modifications even when one or two MLAs change events. However two dozen renegades is certainly uncommon.


Instantly after the 2017 election, the BJP-led authorities within the state was put to a ground check, which it handed. Throughout this vote of confidence, Congress strongman Vishwajit Rane left halfway and not directly helped then CM Manohar Parrikar win the vote. Quickly thereafter, Vishwajit Rane joined the BJP, sought re-election and was inducted within the Cupboard.

Inside a 12 months, two different Congress leaders – Dayanand Sopte and Subhash Shirodkar – resigned from the get together and joined the BJP.


After Manohar Parrikar’s demise in 2019, Pramod Sawant took cost because the Chief Minister of Goa.

A couple of months later, BJP’s ally Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Social gathering witnessed a cut up with two out of its three MLAs forming a separate group. Manohar Ajgaonkar and Deepak Pauskar of the MGP ultimately joined the BJP.

Manohar Ajgaonkar was made the Deputy Chief Minister and the MGP accused the BJP of engineering the cut up.

Within the Panjim bypoll necessitated by Manohar Parrikar’s loss of life, Congress chief Atanasio Monserrate emerged because the winner. However quickly, Monserrate, alongside along with his spouse and eight different Congress MLAs, switched to the BJP.

This included Chief of Opposition Chandrakant ‘Babu’ Kawalekar, Francis Silveira, Antonio ‘Tony’ Fernandes, Wilfred ‘Babashan’ D’sa, Clafacio Dias, Nilkanth Harlarnkar, Isidore Fernandes and Filip Neri Rodrigues.


With the 2022 Meeting election across the nook, the momentum for party-switching has returned.

Unbiased MLA Rohan Khaunte and Goa Ahead Social gathering’s Jayesh Salgaonkar, each believed to be shut associates of GFP’s Vijai Sardesai, joined the BJP.

Senior Congress chief Ravi Naik additionally shifted from Congress to the BJP. In the meantime, impartial MLA and minister Govind Gaude joined the BJP too.

The entry of Mamata Banerjee’s TMC into the image additionally triggered a number of switchovers. Former Goa Chief Minister and ex-Congress chief Luizionho Faleiro joined the TMC.

Churchill Alemao, Nationalist Congress Social gathering’s sole Goa MLA, additionally shifted to the TMC.

BJP MLAs together with Alina Saldanha and Michael Lobo have give up the ruling get together. Whereas the previous joined Aam Aadmi Social gathering, the latter went to the Congress. Senior MLA Pravin Zantye left the BJP for MGP.

It stays to be seen what affect these modifications can have on the upcoming Meeting election in Goa. The Goa election can be held in a single section on February 14 and the end result can be introduced on March 10.

ALSO READ: Why BJP could also be lacking Manohar Parrikar in Goa this election
ALSO WATCH: Goa meeting election: TMC reaches out to Congress for alliance

Supply hyperlink